Author Topic: Possible to add three columns?  (Read 851 times)

consignmentworld

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Possible to add three columns?
« on: January 08, 2020, 08:55:34 am »
So I understand how to use a formula to calculate a percentage for a consignment sale.  However, is there a quicker way to do it rather than going to each item individually and typing it out for every item?

Also, would it be possible to get 3 additional columns added to the Sold Items tab?

The reason I am asking is we have a sales associate who earns a commission on every item sold. This commission is based on the sale price minus any shipping as we offer free shipping.  So as I see it, we would need three additional columns.  First we would need a column in which shows the sale price minus shipping costs.  Then we'd need a column where the commission percentage could be entered, and finally a column that shows the actual dollar amount of any commission owed. 

Additionally, it'd be nice if this commission could also be deducted for the ROI and Profit per item columns as well. 

Thanks in advance!

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Possible to add three columns?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 04:40:56 pm »
Hi, good questions, I think I can help :)
One of the basic functions built into excel, is the ability to change the formula reference ranges if you copy and paste a formula.
For example, if you put a formula in Cell C1 --> "=A1+B1" and then copy that cell and paste it into C2... it will automatically change the formula to "=A2+B2"

So thats how you can quickly duplicate the formula instead of typing it each time.

For the next question, there are already extra columns in each of the sections that are hidden by default, so you dont need to add new columns, you just need to unhide them.
You can view the video tutorials on that here:  https://mycostpro.com/video-tutorials

Lastly, it sounds like you would only need 2 columns.  One for the commission percentage, and then one to do all of the calculations mentioned.  You dont need to do half of the calculations in one column first and then the rest in a second column... let me know if you need help with that.
The commission paid will automatically be removed from your ROI and profit as long as you choose to put it in one of the columns currently hidden in the EXPENSE or FEES group of columns.
Conversely, make sure to put the percentage of commission in one of the groups of columns that does not affect profit directly, such as the PRODUCT group of columns.

I hope that makes sense, let me know if you have any additional questions.

consignmentworld

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Possible to add three columns?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2020, 02:23:03 pm »
Thanks for helping us get back into the forum account.  Not sure what happened there. 

On the first issue.  (copying formulas) I am familiar with how to normally copy and paste formulas between cells.  However, for some reason whenever I attempted to do it in the MyCostPro workbook it wouldn't allow me to.  I tried both right clicking and clicking copy on a cell. but when I went to paste the option is greyed out.  Also, I attempted to do it via the other method where you input the formula in the first cell, left-click the little square in the bottom right corner and drag downward to auto-populate the fields.

Second, I'd appreciate you helping with setting up the columns we need in order to achieve the goals we are working toward.  Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 267
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Possible to add three columns?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2020, 02:45:37 pm »
Hi,
Please check that the Click Layout Assist button is set to OFF.

When it is ON you can not copy and paste.  It should always be set to OFF when not in use.

For your second question, do you need help setting up a formula?  I would just need to know the details.