Author Topic: Product Master  (Read 23697 times)

Angie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Product Master
« on: July 09, 2018, 06:48:52 pm »
Brand new user here and 1st off, MCP is incredible. Thank you for the amazing work you do! The videos and forum have been super helpful and I have a couple questions re: Product Master that I didn't seem to run across.

#1: If I understand correctly, the listing description, in the product master, is the key to making sure the info from product master are connected once an item has sold. So, if an active listing title is changed, I just need to be sure I update it in product master, right? I plan on entering items into PM that I have not yet listed on ebay which is why I'm asking.

#2: Does the SKU work in any way like the listing description in PM? Could something be pulled in once it's sold based off of a SKU alone?

Thanks!

Hunter

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2018, 05:39:11 pm »
Scott is the sheet expert here (I handle all the backend stuff), so I'll ask him to reply when he can. I'll answer to the best of my knowledge for now.

1. You are exactly correct. Item description is one way to handle the product master section. If the description is changed in the active listing, you can just update it here.

2. I'm not certain on this one. I know SKU is incorporated somehow, but I'm not sure in what capacity.  I'll let Scott handle this one.

Here is a discussion from last year on the topic that also goes into a little detail about using wildcards. The thread is a little long, but you may find it helpful.

https://forum.mycostpro.com/index.php?topic=172.0

Thanks for your kind words, and I hope you continue to enjoy MCP for years to come!
« Last Edit: July 11, 2018, 06:15:03 pm by Hunter »

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2018, 06:10:36 pm »
Hi, thanks for the question Angie...

1. Yes, the item description links the two.
2. You are able to input the SKU into the product detail page, but this is not the field that links the two pages together to automatically pull info when an item is sold.  When this was designed it turned out many users were not using SKU, so it was setup to link by the Item Description (which everyone has).
So, you can used SKU here, but it simply adds it to the sold item data if it was blank when the item sold.

Angie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Product Master
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2018, 08:50:43 pm »
Thank you for the info!

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2018, 02:33:56 pm »
Angie,
Good news!

I am implementing a change so the user can choose to link using either the Item ID, or the SKU.

So it will be up to the user :)

This should be ready for download sometime this weekend, I will post in the version history when it is ready.

MCP-User

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Product Master
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2018, 10:15:50 am »
Exemplary customer support gents! Great to see you constantly looking for ways not only to make MCP better and in the end make it better for a wide range of sellers.

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2018, 06:15:29 pm »
Thank you MCP-user!  This change is finished, we are just testing it thoroughly because it ended up impacting more that I originally thought it would in the code.  Look for version update post within a few days.

Hunter

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 36
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2018, 02:01:14 pm »
The update is still pending. We haven't forgotten about it...we are just working through some issues related to the change. Stay tuned...

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2018, 08:18:26 am »
After a slight delay...
The new version is ready to download.

Read update notes here:    https://forum.mycostpro.com/index.php?topic=224.0

petalink

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Product Master
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2018, 09:12:51 pm »
New User.  Really Like the program!  Wondering if the Product Master automatically updates when an item is sold, or do I need to manually remove it from the Product Master? 

Scott

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 427
  • https://mycostpro.com
    • View Profile
    • MyCostPro
Re: Product Master
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2018, 08:31:21 am »
Petalink,
By design think of the product master as a catalog that describes your items (their cost to purchase, their SKU, etc).
And think of the Active Listings as your current inventory...

To answer your question:  The product master information will remain there; you can delete it if you choose, but you dont need to.
The Active Listings section will update to your current listings status each time you click the button to update it.

I hope that helps a bit!